Skip to content
    All posts
    Meal planning apps

    Meal planning apps in the UK, compared on price and shops

    We checked 11 meal planning apps sold in the UK, from their own pages and UK App Store listings. Here is what each one costs, what you get free, and which UK supermarkets it works with.

    Richard Swainson, founder of Susten · 5 min read

    Key takeaways

    • Of the 11 apps we checked, 4 name a UK supermarket on their own pages: Samsung Food, Cherrypick, Mealia and FoodiePrep.
    • 6 plan the week for you. In the rest, you place each meal yourself.
    • 4 plan to calorie or macro targets. Only 2 of those also name a UK supermarket: Samsung Food and FoodiePrep.
    • Only Swoodie's pages describe a different amount for each person in one plan, for two partners on Premium.
    • Mealime closed on 21 October 2026, and its app has left the UK App Store.

    The meal planning apps sold in the UK differ most in three ways: who plans the week, whether they plan to your calories, and whether they work with a UK supermarket. We checked 11 apps on 25 October 2026. Of those, 4 name a UK supermarket on their own pages, and 4 plan to calorie or macro targets. Only 2 do both.

    We took every fact from each app's own pages and its UK App Store listing. We made no accounts. We make Susten, which is in the table too.

    What we compared

    Each app here plans a week of meals, writes a shopping list, and is on sale in the UK. We started from the 18 apps we checked for our Mealime alternatives post, and added Herbi, which UK searches name. Then we left some out:

    • Drizzlelemons, Origano and Ultimate Meal Plans, because they are priced only in US dollars.
    • eMeals, because its terms say it's for US residents, and Jow, because it names no UK grocer.
    • Mob, because its terms ban automated checks of its pages.
    • CookBook and Lightning Meal Plans, to keep the table short. Neither names a UK supermarket.
    name a UK supermarket
    4
    plan the week for you
    6
    plan to calorie or macro targets
    4
    gives each person their own amount
    1
    Out of the apps in the table besides Susten, from their own pages on 25 October 2026.

    Meal planning apps in the UK, side by side

    The table runs from the apps that name UK supermarkets to those that name none. The order is not a ranking.

    • Samsung Food

      UK price
      Free. Food+ £6.99 a month or £59.99 a year
      What's free
      The planner, lists, saved recipes and nutrition goals. A planned week twice
      Who plans the week
      You. Food+ plans the week
      Calorie or macro targets
      A calorie goal and a macro split
      A portion for each person
      One household size. Each person: not stated
      UK supermarkets
      Tesco, Sainsbury's, Ocado, Amazon Fresh. Items go to the store's basket
    • Cherrypick

      UK price
      Free. Plus £2.99 to £41.99, Pro £5.49 or £10.99
      What's free
      The planner and list, with fewer recipes
      Who plans the week
      You pick the meals
      Calorie or macro targets
      Not stated. Goals change which recipes it shows
      A portion for each person
      One household setting
      UK supermarkets
      Sainsbury's and Tesco. Each item goes in as a named product
    • Mealia

      UK price
      £4.99 to £7.99 a month, or £14.99 to £39.99 a year
      What's free
      Your first plan and basket. Checkout needs Premium
      Who plans the week
      Mealia plans to your weekly budget. You swipe to choose
      Calorie or macro targets
      Not stated. It plans to a weekly budget
      A portion for each person
      One household setting
      UK supermarkets
      Tesco, Asda, Sainsbury's, Morrisons. It builds the basket in your own account
    • FoodiePrep

      UK price
      Free. Pro £3.99. Nutrition Pro £6.99 a month or £34.99 a year
      What's free
      Saved recipes, recipe books and basic planning
      Who plans the week
      Its AI builds a 7 day plan. You swap meals
      Calorie or macro targets
      Its pages say yes
      A portion for each person
      One household size. Each person: not stated
      UK supermarkets
      Its pages name Tesco, Sainsbury's, Asda, Waitrose, Ocado
    • Herbi

      UK price
      Free. Herbi Pro from £6.99 a month or £19.99 a year
      What's free
      Not stated
      Who plans the week
      The app plans a week of dinners
      Calorie or macro targets
      Not stated. It plans to a weekly budget
      A portion for each person
      One household size
      UK supermarkets
      None named. It sorts the list by your supermarket's aisles
    • Eat This Much

      UK price
      £6.99 to £64.99 in the app
      What's free
      One day at a time, with no list
      Who plans the week
      The app. A week on Premium
      Calorie or macro targets
      Yes: calories and macros
      A portion for each person
      No. One set of targets per account
      UK supermarkets
      None. Its partners are in the US and Canada
    • Swoodie

      UK price
      £3.99 a week, £9.99 a month, or £29.99 to £49.99 a year
      What's free
      A planner you fill, and 10 AI uses
      Who plans the week
      You, or its AI on Premium (1 to 7 days)
      Calorie or macro targets
      Yes: calories and macros
      A portion for each person
      Each of two partners keeps a calorie target, on Premium
      UK supermarkets
      None named
    • Plan to Eat

      UK price
      £49.99 a year
      What's free
      A 14 day trial, with no card
      Who plans the week
      You, on a calendar
      Calorie or macro targets
      Not stated. It shows daily totals
      A portion for each person
      Not stated
      UK supermarkets
      None named. Lists go through Whisk
    • AnyList

      UK price
      £9.99 a year, or £14.99 a year for a household
      What's free
      Lists only. Planning is paid
      Who plans the week
      You, on a calendar
      Calorie or macro targets
      Not stated
      A portion for each person
      Not stated
      UK supermarkets
      None. Its online shopping is US only
    • ReciMe

      UK price
      Free. Plus £19.99 to £34.99
      What's free
      The planner and list, with 5 recipe imports a week
      Who plans the week
      You
      Calorie or macro targets
      Not stated. Plus shows each recipe's calories
      A portion for each person
      Not stated
      UK supermarkets
      None named
    • Paprika

      UK price
      Pay once: £4.99 on iPhone, £29.99 on Mac
      What's free
      50 recipes on Android or Windows. None on iPhone
      Who plans the week
      You, on a calendar
      Calorie or macro targets
      Not stated
      A portion for each person
      Not stated
      UK supermarkets
      None
    • Susten

      UK price
      Free in early access, with no card
      What's free
      Everything, during early access
      Who plans the week
      Susten plans breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks. You swap any meal
      Calorie or macro targets
      Yes: calories, protein, carbs and fat, for you
      A portion for each person
      S, M or L for each person, up to ten others
      UK supermarkets
      Tesco or Sainsbury's, each item matched to a product and its price
    Prices are from the UK App Store. Where the store gives no plan length, the table gives the range. Checked on , from each app's own public pages and its UK App Store and Google Play listings. We made no accounts, so "Not stated" means the public pages don't say.

    We also compare Susten point by point with Samsung Food, Cherrypick and Eat This Much.

    Which apps work with Tesco and Sainsbury's

    Four apps name UK supermarkets on their own pages. Each one hands the list over in its own way:

    • Samsung Food sends the items to the store's basket at Tesco, Sainsbury's, Ocado or Amazon Fresh. Then you pay on the store's own site.
    • Cherrypick adds every ingredient to your Sainsbury's basket as a named product. Its home page names only Sainsbury's. When we looked inside its app on 7 October 2026, it also listed Tesco.
    • Mealia builds the basket inside your own Tesco, Asda, Sainsbury's or Morrisons account. Then you check out in the supermarket's app. Its home page also names Waitrose, but its own UK guide says it has no Waitrose support.
    • FoodiePrep says its list links into your online basket at Tesco, Sainsbury's, Asda, Waitrose or Ocado. Its pages don't say how it picks the products.

    Plan to Eat sends lists through Whisk, and names no UK supermarket itself. The other six name none at all. Herbi sorts its list by your supermarket's aisles, but names no UK shop.

    Free meal planning apps in the UK

    Most of these apps have a free plan, but the free plans differ:

    • A free planner and list: Samsung Food, Cherrypick (with fewer recipes), FoodiePrep and ReciMe (with 5 recipe imports a week).
    • A free first week: Mealia plans your first week and basket free. Checkout then needs Premium, from £4.99 a month.
    • Planning is paid: Eat This Much plans one day at a time free, with no list. AnyList's planner needs Complete, at £9.99 a year. Plan to Eat has a 14 day trial, then costs £49.99 a year.
    • Pay once: Paprika costs £4.99 on iPhone, with no subscription.

    Susten is free during early access, and you don't need a card.

    Apps that plan to your calories and protein

    Four apps plan to calorie or macro targets. Eat This Much plans each day to your calories and macros, and plans a full week on Premium. Swoodie does the same on Premium. Samsung Food lets every user set a calorie goal and a macro split, and Food+ plans the week around it. FoodiePrep's pages say it sizes the portions to your targets.

    The other apps show calories on each recipe, or plan to a weekly budget instead (Mealia and Herbi). To work out your own target first, use the macro calculator.

    Meal planning apps for a family

    Most apps set one household size. Each recipe then splits into equal portions, so a child and an adult get the same plate. Eat This Much holds one set of targets per account, and it scales amounts for up to 9 people. Swoodie is the only app whose pages describe a different amount for each person in one shared plan: two partners each keep a calorie target, on Premium.

    Susten plans a portion size for each person instead. Here is one dinner from a real Susten week for two, at Small and Large:

    A recipe that serves 2

    Two equal portions

    • You: 146 kcal more than a small portion
      576 kcal
    • Alex: 199 kcal less than a large portion
      576 kcal

    The same dinner, sized for each of you

    As Susten plans it

    • You, small
      430 kcal
    • Alex, large
      775 kcal
    What goes in the pan
    Main ingredientYou (small)Alex (large)Sized for you bothServes 2
    Chicken breast106 g158 g264 g284 g
    Basmati rice56 g112 g168 g150 g
    Greek yoghurt82 g139 g221 g219 g

    For how a week for two adults works, see meal planning for two.

    Which one fits you

    • You want the app to plan the week: Eat This Much, FoodiePrep, Herbi, Mealia, Samsung Food (Food+), Swoodie (Premium) or Susten.
    • You want your list at a UK supermarket: Cherrypick, FoodiePrep, Mealia, Samsung Food or Susten.
    • You plan to a calorie target: Eat This Much, FoodiePrep, Samsung Food, Swoodie or Susten.
    • You plan to a weekly budget: Mealia or Herbi.
    • You keep your own recipes: AnyList, Paprika, Plan to Eat or ReciMe. In these, you place each meal yourself.
    • You cook for people who eat different amounts: Swoodie (Premium) for two partners, or Susten, for up to ten people besides you.

    Mealime closed on 21 October 2026, and its app has left the UK App Store. If you used it, see the Mealime alternatives for UK shoppers. For how to plan a week by hand in any app, see how to meal plan for the week.

    Questions people ask

    Early access

    A good week starts with one decision, not seven.

    Answer a few questions. Susten plans your first week.

    Build my plan
    • No card needed
    • Free while we build it