Mealime alternatives in the UK: where to go after 21 October
Mealime closes on 21 October 2026, and the app it sends you to runs on US grocery apps. Here is how to save your recipes first, and which apps plan a week and write a list for UK shoppers.
Key takeaways
- Mealime closes on 21 October 2026. It deletes all personal data that day, and it has no export button.
- Before then, you can print recipes and the grocery list from its web app, or ask privacy@mealime.com for a copy of your data.
- Meals Hub, where Mealime sends its users, runs inside the apps of a US grocer. None of those apps is in the UK App Store.
- Four apps name UK supermarkets on their own pages. They are Cherrypick, Mealia, Samsung Food and FoodiePrep.
Mealime closes on 21 October 2026. Its closing page says it deletes all personal data that day, and it offers no export. It sends users to Meals Hub, but Meals Hub runs inside the apps of Albertsons Companies, a US grocer. None of those apps is in the UK App Store. So a UK Mealime user needs a Mealime alternative. This post covers how to save your recipes before the 21st, then which apps plan a week and write a shopping list for UK shoppers.
We checked every fact on 7 October 2026, from each app's own pages. We make Susten, which is one of the apps below.
What happens to Mealime on 21 October
Mealime's closing page and its App Store notes say this:
- Mealime "will be discontinued as of October 21, 2026".
- Pro is free for everyone until then. Mealime made it free on 2 September 2026, and Pro subscribers pay nothing more.
- "All personal data will be deleted when the Mealime application is shut down."
- Your account doesn't move to Meals Hub. Instead, you sign in to an Albertsons Companies store app and set some preferences again.
- The closing page offers no export, and it doesn't mention refunds.
Mealime's help pages say an account holds "your eating preferences, meal plans, and favorites". The closing page says all personal data goes on the 21st.
How to save your Mealime recipes before 21 October
Mealime has no export button. Its help pages give these steps instead:
- Print the grocery list. In the web app, open the Grocery List from the Meal Plan screen, then click the printer icon. You can print it to a PDF. On an iPhone, tap More, then Print.
- Print a recipe. In the web app, open the recipe and click the printer icon under the instructions. The phone apps can't print recipes.
- Share a recipe. On an iPhone, open the recipe, tap the More button, then Share. This sends one recipe at a time.
- Ask for a copy of your data. Mealime's privacy policy lists a right to a copy of your data, and to receive it "in a structured, commonly used and machine readable format". You ask at privacy@mealime.com. The policy says Mealime answers "always within one month", but the data goes on 21 October.
Mealime's recipe pages are public at mealime.com/recipes today. However, the closing page doesn't say whether they stay online after the 21st.
Can you use Meals Hub in the UK?
Meals Hub lives inside the store apps and websites of Albertsons Companies. Albertsons runs Safeway, Vons, Jewel-Osco and other US grocery chains. On 7 October 2026, we found this:
- None of its 19 store apps was in the UK App Store.
- On Google Play, the six store apps we checked showed no Install button in the UK.
- safeway.com blocked our UK connection.
- Albertsons' terms say it "makes no representation that the Services are appropriate or available for access or use in any other country".
Mealime's page says Meals Hub works for people who can't shop at an Albertsons store. Even so, it doesn't say Meals Hub works outside the US. One UK reviewer on the App Store wrote: "I'm not in the US; the Albertsons apps are not available here, not to mention the supermarkets."
What Mealime did, and which apps do it now
We checked 22 apps. Of those, 18 plan a week, write a shopping list, are on sale in the UK and were still running in October 2026. This table maps each Mealime feature to the apps whose own pages say they do it:
| What Mealime did | Apps that do it |
|---|---|
| Planned the week for you ("Build a perfect plan") | Eat This Much, FoodiePrep, Mealia, Samsung Food (Food+), Swoodie (Premium) |
| Wrote one grocery list for the week | All 18. Some charge for it |
| Sent the list to a supermarket (Mealime's were in the US and Canada) | Cherrypick, FoodiePrep, Mealia and Samsung Food name UK supermarkets. Plan to Eat goes through Whisk |
| Took your diets and allergies once | Eat This Much, FoodiePrep, Samsung Food, Swoodie. Cherrypick and Mealia take diets, and their pages don't list allergies |
| Brought in recipes from a link | Most of the 18, including Cherrypick, Paprika, Plan to Eat and Samsung Food |
Nine apps side by side
The table has the four apps that name UK supermarkets, the apps that plan to calorie targets, two that Mealime users name on Reddit, and Susten. We left out apps priced only in US dollars. We also left out eMeals, because its terms say it's for US residents, and Jow, because it names no UK grocer.
Samsung Food
- UK price
- Free. Food+ £6.99 a month or £59.99 a year
- Who plans the week
- You (free). The app, on Food+
- Calorie or macro targets
- You set a calorie goal and a macro split
- A portion for each person
- Not stated
- UK supermarkets
- Tesco, Sainsbury's, Ocado, Amazon Fresh
- Recipe from a link
- Yes. It keeps a link to the method, not the method
Cherrypick
- UK price
- Free, with fewer recipes. Paid plans £2.99 to £41.99
- Who plans the week
- You
- Calorie or macro targets
- No. Goals change which recipes it shows
- A portion for each person
- No. One household size
- UK supermarkets
- Tesco, Sainsbury's: each item as a product, pack size and price
- Recipe from a link
- Yes
Mealia
- UK price
- First plan free. £4.99 to £7.99 a month, or £14.99 to £39.99 a year
- Who plans the week
- Both: you swipe recipes, or its chat assistant plans the week
- Calorie or macro targets
- Not stated. It plans to a weekly budget
- A portion for each person
- A portion setting. Each person: not stated
- UK supermarkets
- Tesco, Asda, Sainsbury's, Morrisons. It builds the basket in your own account
- Recipe from a link
- Yes
FoodiePrep
- UK price
- Free tier. Nutrition Pro £6.99 a month or £34.99 a year
- Who plans the week
- Both: its AI builds a 7-day plan
- Calorie or macro targets
- Its pages say yes
- A portion for each person
- Not stated
- UK supermarkets
- Its pages name Tesco, Sainsbury's, Asda, Waitrose, Ocado
- Recipe from a link
- Yes
Plan to Eat
- UK price
- £49.99 a year, after a 14-day trial
- Who plans the week
- You, on a calendar
- Calorie or macro targets
- Not stated. It shows daily totals
- A portion for each person
- Not stated
- UK supermarkets
- Through Whisk, which lists Tesco, Ocado, Amazon Fresh and Sainsbury's
- Recipe from a link
- Yes, with a guide for Mealime recipes
Paprika
- UK price
- Pay once: £4.99 on iPhone, £29.99 on Mac
- Who plans the week
- You
- Calorie or macro targets
- Not stated
- A portion for each person
- Not stated
- UK supermarkets
- None
- Recipe from a link
- Yes
Eat This Much
- UK price
- £6.99 to £64.99 in the app. Free plans one day at a time
- Who plans the week
- The app: a week on Premium
- Calorie or macro targets
- Yes
- A portion for each person
- No. One set of targets per account
- UK supermarkets
- None. Its partners are Instacart, Amazon Fresh and Walmart
- Recipe from a link
- Not stated
Swoodie
- UK price
- Free tier. Premium £9.99 a month or £49.99 a year
- Who plans the week
- Both: its AI plans 1 to 7 days, on Premium
- Calorie or macro targets
- Yes
- A portion for each person
- Each partner keeps a calorie target, on Premium
- UK supermarkets
- None
- Recipe from a link
- Yes
Susten
- UK price
- Free in early access, with no card
- Who plans the week
- The app. You swap any meal
- Calorie or macro targets
- Yes: calories, protein, carbs and fat
- A portion for each person
- S, M or L for each person, up to ten others
- UK supermarkets
- Tesco or Sainsbury's, each item matched to a product and price. Ocado coming soon
- Recipe from a link
- No. It plans from its own recipes
| App | UK price | Who plans the week | Calorie or macro targets | A portion for each person | UK supermarkets | Recipe from a link |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Samsung Food | Free. Food+ £6.99 a month or £59.99 a year | You (free). The app, on Food+ | You set a calorie goal and a macro split | Not stated | Tesco, Sainsbury's, Ocado, Amazon Fresh | Yes. It keeps a link to the method, not the method |
| Cherrypick | Free, with fewer recipes. Paid plans £2.99 to £41.99 | You | No. Goals change which recipes it shows | No. One household size | Tesco, Sainsbury's: each item as a product, pack size and price | Yes |
| Mealia | First plan free. £4.99 to £7.99 a month, or £14.99 to £39.99 a year | Both: you swipe recipes, or its chat assistant plans the week | Not stated. It plans to a weekly budget | A portion setting. Each person: not stated | Tesco, Asda, Sainsbury's, Morrisons. It builds the basket in your own account | Yes |
| FoodiePrep | Free tier. Nutrition Pro £6.99 a month or £34.99 a year | Both: its AI builds a 7-day plan | Its pages say yes | Not stated | Its pages name Tesco, Sainsbury's, Asda, Waitrose, Ocado | Yes |
| Plan to Eat | £49.99 a year, after a 14-day trial | You, on a calendar | Not stated. It shows daily totals | Not stated | Through Whisk, which lists Tesco, Ocado, Amazon Fresh and Sainsbury's | Yes, with a guide for Mealime recipes |
| Paprika | Pay once: £4.99 on iPhone, £29.99 on Mac | You | Not stated | Not stated | None | Yes |
| Eat This Much | £6.99 to £64.99 in the app. Free plans one day at a time | The app: a week on Premium | Yes | No. One set of targets per account | None. Its partners are Instacart, Amazon Fresh and Walmart | Not stated |
| Swoodie | Free tier. Premium £9.99 a month or £49.99 a year | Both: its AI plans 1 to 7 days, on Premium | Yes | Each partner keeps a calorie target, on Premium | None | Yes |
| Susten | Free in early access, with no card | The app. You swap any meal | Yes: calories, protein, carbs and fat | S, M or L for each person, up to ten others | Tesco or Sainsbury's, each item matched to a product and price. Ocado coming soon | No. It plans from its own recipes |
We also compare Susten point by point with Mealime, Samsung Food, Cherrypick and Eat This Much.
The alternatives, one by one
Samsung Food
Samsung Food is free to plan and write lists. Food+ costs £6.99 a month or £59.99 a year, and it builds a weekly plan around your tastes, diet and health goals. You can also set a calorie goal and a macro split. It sends lists to Tesco, Sainsbury's, Ocado and Amazon Fresh.
When you save a recipe from a link, Samsung Food keeps the link to the method, not the method itself. Its help pages say the method is gone if the source page goes. That matters for Mealime's recipe pages after 21 October.
Cherrypick
Cherrypick is a London company. You pick the meals, because it doesn't plan the week for you. Then its list names a product, pack size and price at Tesco or Sainsbury's for each ingredient. The free version has fewer recipes. It has one household size, not a portion for each person.
Mealia
Mealia is also a London company. Its chat assistant plans a week of dinners to a weekly spend limit you set. Then it builds the basket inside your own Tesco, Asda, Sainsbury's or Morrisons account. Your first plan and basket are free, and Premium costs £4.99 to £7.99 a month. Its pages don't mention calorie targets.
FoodiePrep
FoodiePrep is a UK company. Its AI builds a 7-day plan, and its pages say it plans to your calories and macros. Its pages also say the list links into your supermarket's online basket, and they name Tesco, Sainsbury's, Asda, Waitrose and Ocado. We didn't check how that link works in the app. The free tier includes 5 AI recipes a month and 25 saved recipes. Nutrition Pro costs £6.99 a month or £34.99 a year.
Plan to Eat
Plan to Eat is a US company. You plan on a calendar, with recipes you add yourself, because it has no recipe collection of its own. It has a guide to bringing in Mealime recipes, one at a time. It costs £49.99 a year, after a 14-day trial. For UK delivery it sends lists through Whisk, which lists Tesco, Ocado, Amazon Fresh and Sainsbury's. We didn't check how that works.
Paprika
Paprika is a recipe manager you pay for once: £4.99 on iPhone, or £29.99 on Mac. You plan on a calendar, and it writes a list sorted by aisle. It has no recipe collection and no supermarket link. One Mealime user on Reddit wrote that Paprika brought in a Mealime recipe's ingredients "but not the directions".
Eat This Much
Eat This Much is a US company. It plans meals to your calories and macros. The free account plans one day at a time, while Premium plans a week and adds the grocery list. It names no UK supermarket, and one account holds one set of targets.
Swoodie
Swoodie is built for couples. On Premium, at £9.99 a month or £49.99 a year, its AI plans 1 to 7 days. Each partner keeps their own calorie target in one shared plan. It names no supermarket.
Which one fits you
- You want the app to plan the week: Eat This Much, FoodiePrep, Mealia, Samsung Food (Food+), Swoodie (Premium) or Susten.
- You want your list at a UK supermarket: Cherrypick, FoodiePrep, Mealia, Samsung Food or Susten.
- You want to keep your Mealime recipes: Plan to Eat has a guide for them, and Paprika is a one-off payment.
- You plan to a calorie target: Eat This Much, FoodiePrep, Samsung Food, Swoodie or Susten.
- You cook for two people with different targets: Swoodie (Premium).
Whichever you pick, save your recipes before 21 October. After that date, Mealime deletes them.
Questions people ask
Read next
- Meal planning
How to meal plan for the week in one sitting, step by step
How to meal plan for the week: count the meals, note who eats what, pick recipes for your nights and write one list. With a real week and its Tesco list.
4 min readRead - Meal plans
2,000 calorie high-protein meal plan, with the Tesco list
A week of meals at 2,000 kcal with a target of 150 g of protein and two no-cook lunches. The Tesco list for it comes to £63.45.
4 min readRead - Households
Meal planning for two adults when one of you eats more
How to plan meals for two people who eat different amounts: a portion size each, one pan and one shopping list. With a real week and its Tesco list.
3 min readRead
A good week starts with one decision, not seven.
Answer a few questions. Susten plans your first week.
- No card needed
- Free while we build it